Tools for Fools

Knitting foolI have an inability to follow a pattern, but I have lots and lots of knitting pattern books. I can never resist the urge to tweak, change and altogether alter, any pattern I try to follow. Is it my short attention span or the “what if” gene that makes me deviate from the outlined course. Perchance, its my half-cracked philosophy; that there is never just one way, the only way, or my way but instead, many, many ways to skin a cat or knit a hat! So, while I like to read pattern books and admire the shiny pictures, I don’t really use them too often. When I realised this, I decided that perhaps I should be looking at stitch directories instead.

I have lots and lots and lots, and a few more knitting-stitch directory books. but they are never where I am. So to my delight, I came across this absolutely wonderfully helpful and educational blog, Knitting Fool. Over two thousand, four hundred different stitch patterns, a sweater pattern generator and a skein estimation tool, are among the sites very handy and free tools. Everything a knitter could need. I may never need to buy another book again! Yeah, that ‘ill happen!

3 thoughts on “Tools for Fools

  1. I feel the same way and I love that you found a resource for just stitch types…it opens up a world of possibilities. My knitting books are marked up with all of the changes I make mid-pattern and notes about other pattern components I’m trying to blend. I like to think it is because we are designers at heart.

  2. Me too 🙂 just can’t seem to leave a pattern alone 😉 And thanks for reminding me about the Knitting Fools website! It used to be a favourite of mine, but got lost in the shuffle over time. ❤

Leave a Reply

