Maiden Voyage

“Spinning?” said the Junior Doctor, incredulously, wondering why I had traipsed across the country to take a spin on a two wheeler. “Like on bikes?” “No”, says I. “With a wheel”. “Like in a fairy tale?” wondered the on-leave teacher, “You know, like Sleeping Beauty?”wheel spin

Well I wasn’t feeling too much like a princess after a frustrating two hours with a modern day spinning wheel. My back was aching, I was discontented and I was just not able to get any satisfaction in turning the combed top into beautiful yarn.  Mainly because I  couldn’t get it to flow. With all the coordination of a dog on a bicycle, I  just could not get into any sort of rhythm.  My hands and feet couldn’t get it together. Concentrating on the short draw, my feet would suddenly speed up like I was in the final stage of the Tour de France or suddenly, I was back-peddling furiously anti-clockwise and unravelling all of my previous efforts. If I managed to draw and spin successfully, the yarn would break and I would have to rethread the spindle thingy. Most often, the yarn was too bulky as I wasn’t drawing it out properly, and then over spinning it, making it difficult to wind on to the spindle.  Kristiina, the teacher was very patient,repeated the instructions patiently or showed alternative techniques, but I just couldn’t get the hang of it. Insert sad face here.

My very unique first skein of almost spun yarn

My very unique first skein of almost spun yarn

IMG_2128 - Copy

Close ups!

Well there isn’t any danger of me taking up a new hobby nor am I likely to shell out a couple of hundred yoyos on a new fandangled gadget.

Thanks to all at handmAid for the chance to try my hand on the wheel.

handmAid 2013

handmAid 2013

handmAid is a craft day in aid of Capuchin Day Centre for Homeless People. It took place on Saturday 14th of September and raised over five thousand euro for a very needy and worthy cause.

Appropriate pavement Art near Damer Hall on Saturday 14th of September 2013

Appropriate pavement Art near Damer Hall on Saturday 14th of September 2013

3 thoughts on “Maiden Voyage

  1. Pingback: A Spinster’s Life | an irish knit odyssey

Leave a Reply

